Craig Koste Award for Outstanding Service
In 1992 the Executive Council created "The NYSLAA Award for Outstanding Service" specifically for New York State library assistants who are members of NYSLAA. In 1995, its name was changed to honor Craig Koste, a library assistant who passed away and bequeathed an endowment to NYSLAA. The award recognizes those library assistants who have distinguished themselves by their service to our organization and to the library assistants of New York on either a state or local level. A stipend of $100 will be given to the library of the winner for collection development.
Ray Murray Award
In 1989 the Ray Murray Award was created to honor Ray Murray, a librarian who opened the door for the creating of the annual library assistants conference, thereby laying the groundwork for NYSLAA. The Ray Murray Award is given to librarians, library directors, trustees, board members or others who have contributed to the recognition and/or professional growth of library assistants.

Award Winners
Year Ray Murray Award Craig Koste Award
for Outstanding Service
1989 Janet Steiner
- So. Central Regional
  Library Council
1991 Sandie Hackett
- Alfred University
1992 Janet Selby
- SUNY Cortland
Eileen O'Hara
- SUNY Brockport
1993 John Hammond
- Northern New York
  Library Network
Dean Johnston
- SUNY Cobleskill
1994 Dick Panz
- Monroe County Library System
Ed Gillen
- New York State Library
1995 Frank Van Zanten
- Mid Hudson Library System
Ron Crovisier
- Dutchess Community College
Sharon Genaux
- Alfred University
1996   Bill Jenkins
- Cornell University
Douglas Braswell
- Columbia University
Walter Nickeson
- University of Rochester
1997 Betsy Morris Dorothy Morgan
- Liverpool Public Library
1998 Arleen Somerville
- University of Rochester
Ed Rivenburgh
- SUNY Geneseo
Donna Hanna
- Geneseo College
Sally Sessler
- Syracuse University
1999 James J. Simonis
- Le Moyne College
Judy Sibio
- Liverpool Public Library
2000 Carolyn Vang Schuler
- Monroe County Library System
Joseph Valenti
- Appellate Division Library
2001 Dave Nuzzo
- University at Buffalo
Judith Andrew
- Ithaca College
2002 Melanie Battoe &
Board of Trustees
- Guernsey Memorial Library
Ruth V. Oberg
- University at Buffalo
2003 Janet Natalia Stahl
- Clarkson University
Vergie Savage-Branch
- Weill Cornell University
  Medical College
2004 Mary Brown
- Clinton-Essex-Franklin Library
Katherine Martel
- Rochester Public Library
2005 Kathy Miller
- Rochester Regional
  Library Council
Sheila Hallahan
- Horseheads Free Library
Tracy LaBarge
- Clinton-Essex-Franklin Library
2006 Metro Library
  Resources Council
Karen Ricketson
- Plattsburgh Public Library
2007 Elaine Dawson
- Newark Public Library
Jane H. McManus
- RPL Winton Branch
Rita Gregory
- City College of New York
2008 Lisa C. Wemett
- Webster Public Library
Heidi Jensen
- Pioneer Library System
2009 Debby Emerson
- Rochester Regional Library
  Council (RRLC)
Michele Matthews
- Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Louise Smith-Jones
- St. John's University
2010   Susan Morehead
- Guernsey Memorial Library
2011 Goeff Kirkpatrick
- Bethlehem Public Library
Coleen Hopkins
- SUNY Geneseo
2012 Kathy Metz
- University of Rochester
Michele Giuffre
- Bethlehem Public Library
2013 Evelyn Butrico
- East Greenbush Community Library
Sally McMaster
- University of Rochester
2014 Fredrick W. Stoss
- University at Buffalo
Darlene Strack
- SUNY Plattsburgh
2015 Andrea Gerberg
- SUNY College of Oneonta
Sheila Tshudy
- Corning Museum of Glass
Adrienne Birchler
- Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
2016 Sheryl Knab
- WNY Library Resources Council
Nancy Davis
- University at Albany
Dawn Gage
- SUNY College at Oneonta
2017 Mary Ann Madrinac
- University of Rochester
Tammy Southard
- SUNY College at Oneonta
Terry Berl
- The College at Brockport
Carrie Goetz
- University at Buffalo